Happy Ada Lovelace Day!

Today is Ada Lovelace Day and here at the University there are a range of exciting and creative activities happening as part of the University’s first Ada Lovelace Day.  The day celebrates the achievements of women in science, technology, engineering and maths but I’ve been thinking particularly about careers in computing and IT.  As a careers consultant I’m passionate about supporting students and graduates to achieve their ambitions, regardless of gender but you could also say that I work in IT myself as I now manage a website and I’m responsible for technology enhanced delivery in the Careers Service.

When I started out my career in careers a few years ago I never imagined that I would end up learning the ins and outs of managing a website and learning to code in HTML and CSS and supporting other colleagues in developing their technical skills, but that’s where I’ve ended up.  This got me wondering if there’s more to the world of computing and IT than people often realise and if people sometimes don’t consider a career in computing and IT because they don’t think they have the necessary skills.

I think there’s more to this fascinating industry than meets the eye.  As a starter take a look at this article from TARGETJobs on ten typical jobs graduates can do in IT. You can then explore the Careers Service website for more information about the range of different roles in the sector, entry requirements, typical employers and sources of vacancies.  And if that’s whet your appetite then you could come along to our Careers in IT event which will be taking place next semester and will feature a range of employers who are looking to recruit graduates from a whole range of degree disciplines, proving that you don’t need to have a computing or IT background to enter the industry, as long as you have the passion and enthusiasm. Check MyCareerHub nearer the time for details of the date, venue and exhibitors.

Right, I’m off to brush up on my coding skills!

#ald15 #ald15eduni

One thought on “Happy Ada Lovelace Day!

Leave a Reply

