Work experience – the link that connected me with my dream career

 

On Day 3 of #ExperienceWorks hear from Tom Dawes (Engineering) who did a 12 month undergraduate placement with Bentley (Bentley also offer 3 month internships). Tom is now on their Graduate Scheme.

It had always been my ambition to work for a leading luxury automaker, so I was thrilled when I received the call to confirm my Industrial Placement with Bentley Motors. The following 12 months in the Body & Trim Engineering department provided me with an incredible opportunity to realise my dream and gain an invaluable insight into the workings of Bentley. In addition to improving my understanding of the real-world design process, I developed essential professional skills that set me apart from my peers when it came to return to university.

Following the success of my placement, I was invited to return on the Bentley Graduate Scheme. From day one I have been immersed in exciting projects, playing an active role in shaping the next generation of Bentleys. The Graduate Scheme will take me across the business to gain an understanding of the whole product development process, building on the foundation of my Industrial Placement.

My placement became an essential part of my degree programme and the link that connected me with my dream career. If you are driven, enthusiastic and passionate about the products, Bentley is always looking for the next generation of engineering talent, apply now!

 

 We’ll run another success story tomorrow, when Aleksandra talks about her time with Nestle.

Internships and work experience – the essentials: www.ed.ac.uk/careers/wex

Leave a Reply

